HomeAwards & HonorsThe Founder's AwardAwards and HonorsThe Founder's AwardThe Founder's Award Recipients - 2015

The Founder's Award Recipients - 2015

founders small

James Shaughnessy            

This Eagle Scout from Troop 105 was inducted into the Order in 1983 and sealed his membership in the Brotherhood in 1985. His service to scouting and the Order of the Arrow reaches many levels. As a youth member he served the order as a chapter vice chief and lodge vice chief. He served on the staff at Ten Mile River in many capacities at Keowa, Kunatah, and Headquarters from 1985-1991. He continues to serve as a volunteer at TMR each summer at Aquehonga, and regularly serves as a member of the GNYC camp inspection team. He also supports the program at TMR in his role as service chairman for the Friends of Ten Mile River.

As an adult in the Order, our honoree has served as lodge resale adviser, lodge finance adviser and lodge adviser for Suanhacky Lodge. Since 2013 he has served Kintecoying Lodge as Associate Lodge Adviser for Inductions. He was the lead adviser for our OA Service Experience at TMR in 2014. For his service to scouting he has been awarded the Silver Beaver and the Vigil Honor.

When speaking of our honoree, His nomination read " it is said that the Order is a thing of the outdoors. Born in an island wilderness, it needs and is nurtured by the sun and the rain, the mountains, the woods, and the starlit sky. This brother has been a strong advocate and leader for our order and camping for many years. His leadership has enabled many young men to experience the great outdoors and the true beauty of a life of cheerful  service."

For his service to camping and The Order of the Arrow, and for demonstrating in his everyday life the spirit of achievement as described by our Founders, the Founder's Award is presented to Jim Shaughnessy.


Last Updated on Sunday, 11 January 2015 23:25


Founder's Award Nominations

Go to top